Workshops & Trainings


Earthdance provides a dynamic mix of dance, somatic, and interdisciplinary arts training through year-round workshops with teachers from around the world.

Upcoming Events

Earthdance LIVE: Virtual Sunday Class & Talkback Series
Sunday, March 29, 2020 -
7:00pm to 8:30pm
Consent Culture in Contact Improvisation SYMPOSIUM
Saturday, April 18, 2020 - 12:00pm to Sunday, April 19, 2020 - 5:00pm
An ONLINE forum for CI teachers and committed practitioners to cross-pollinate ideas and strategies toward safer CI spacesCurated by Nicole Bindler, Deirdre Morris & Vivek Patel
Cocréa East Coast Foundations Training
Thursday, May 14, 2020 - 5:00pm to Sunday, May 17, 2020 - 3:00pm
Do you desire for a greater sense of connection in your dances? Do you feel like there is an underlying piece missing from your dances? An animation that transcends technique and form? Do you want tools for taking the confidence you feel on the dance floor out into the world? Using techniques from...
Forces of Nature: A Six Viewpoints Performance Intensive
Friday, May 15, 2020 - 5:00pm to Tuesday, May 19, 2020 - 3:00pm
Currently we are facing a climate emergency. Many of us experience the effects of this subconsciously and through our bodies, in experiences that include anxiety, numbness, and despair. Many of us ask ourselves over and over what can be done. Taking inspiration from grassroots social justice...
Tree Land Sky: Site-Responsive Improvisation & Collaboration
Thursday, May 21, 2020 - 5:00pm to Monday, May 25, 2020 - 3:00pm
‘Site-responsive’ encapsulates our research of how embodied experience shifts with the spaces our bodies and imaginations encounter. Through this research, we develop our own language of understanding (of trees, land, skies, etc.) along with choreographic tools for creating performative responses...
Touch&Play 2020 – Stories of Rewilding and Resilience
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 - 5:00pm to Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 3:00pm
Teacher application form here (deadline extended to March 29)
Transnational Dance Immersion 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020 - 5:00pm to Sunday, July 26, 2020 - 3:00pm
After over 30 years of study, Donna Mejia has galvanized a teaching practice that defies categorization, highlighting rural North African/Arab dances, Yoga, American hip hop, and Brazilian Silvestre Contemporary Technique. Inventive fusion, hardcore rhythms, precision hip work, and attentive...
Dance Improvisation & Performance Intensive 2020
Sunday, August 9, 2020 - 5:00pm to Saturday, August 15, 2020 - 3:00pm
Dance Improvisation and Performance Intensive (DIPI) is a 6­-day residential workshop featuring the research and teaching of Chris Aiken & Angie Hauser. The intensive focuses on dance improvisation, performance, and related work. Time is spent tuning and stretching our physical and perceptual...
Moving Arts Lab 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020 - 5:00pm to Sunday, August 23, 2020 - 3:00pm
a festival meeting ground for interdisciplinary exploration with teaching artists from the International Interdisciplinary Artists Consortium (IIAC)​​​​​